Seafoam is the ****!!!!

BackWoods

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
132   0
Reaction score
Sorry, I know it's long! I've spent the last two days trying to diagnose a problem with my truck.

My new truck was idling rough and RPM's were running low almost like it wanted to stall. First I checked the battery as this happened with my Jeep and all the mechanics thought it was this sensor or that.

Anywho, battery tested fine so, I took out the MAS(mass airflow sensor) & cleaned it. I am no mechanic and am broke so, cheap fixes are what I have to do. I cleaned the carbon build up from the throttle body & butterfly, cleaned the IACV(idle air control valve) for about 45min.(it was dirty as hell) & said screw it and ended up replacing it. The gasket was gone and it just looked like there was too much build up. Checked for vacuum leaks and nothing!! It still idled like ****! I said screw it and went to bed.

At this point, I'm thinking: bad coil, plugs, intake manifold leak(no visible signs though), fuel filter, throttle body sensor, clogged injector, PVC valve, EGR valve, hidden vacuum leak or bad MAS( I've heard of these being bad and not throwing a code).

Got up this morning, went to the local auto parts store and grabbed my bottle of lucas fuel injector cleaner(next, was going to be the fuel filter). I saw the can of SEAFOAM and have heard good things, just have never tried it. Little fella about my age says he & his mechanic swear by it. It's like a "engine and fuel systems tune up in a can". Directions say to pour 1/3 in the gas tank, 1/3 in the oil reservoir, and let a 1/3 get sucked up through a vacuum line so, it can go across all the cylinders and get down in the motor. I don't like changing the viscosity or formula of motor oil as modern oil seems to be correctly formulated, IMO.