Reloading questions???

MGill

Default rank <200 posts
Tracker
3   0
Reaction score
Ok so I am pretty certain Santa Clause brought me a RCBS Rock Chucker kit for Christmas. But as I am sitting at work looking through the Cabela's shooting catalog at various presses. It strikes me that of all available models LEE presses at significantly cheaper than any other brand. I mean I can get a fully tricked out progressive LEE press for close to the same price as a standard single stage RCBS. I am somewhat new to reloading brass. And it doesn't make sense to me. So here is my question. Are LEE presses garbage? Are RCBS an Hornady that much better? What's the deal here? I'm sure some of you guys who have been reloading for years know the answer to these questions, please enlighten me. If the LEE presses aren't trash I may pick up one of the progressive models that Cabela's has. Like I said I am new to owning my own stuff. I don't plan on turning out thousands of rounds at a time and I only plan on reloading a few calibers. Mostly .40S&amp;W, 9mm, 10mm, 45LC, 45ACP, 7mm, .270, and .223. Would it be worth it to pick up a second press? Thanks in advance for your replies. Y'all have a Merry Christmas.

I wondered the same thing about Lee, read the reviews did some research and bought a Lee turret press kit.

Once set up for the dies you are using, it does a good job and can make ammo quicker than the single stage.
I do not use the powder scale that came with the kit, got a digital. The auto powder measure can be a bit tedious to set up, but seems to be consistent, I check quite often anyway.
Using lee dies too which work OK, can't compare to others but no reason to at this point. I did get stung a bit early by a very hard primer and having my decapper too tight.
There are a bunch of knowledgable loaders on here and they like to help, they have helped me without reservation. There are also some good videos(and some bad ones ) on u tube.