• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Reloading for Glocks.....

jcountry

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
13   0
Reaction score
I am pretty new to reloading. I am gonna kick off by reloading 9mm for my Glocks. I have read all sorts of stuff about "unsupported chambers" and the need to use a "bulge buster" on Glocks. My brass comes out of my 9mm and .45 looking just fine.

I am kinda wondering what experiences y'all have in this area. Any troubles when reloading for Glocks? Did you just stick with factory barrels or go for a Lone Wolf. (I am not messing around with cast bullets-only copper jacketed for my Glocks.)
Thanks

The 9mm is a tapered case and the bulge buster will not work with the Lee FCD. I think Ramroddoc had said something about a modified makarov die being used for this and it makes sense because the makarov is a little bigger than the 9mm so as not to remove the taper only remove anything larger than the taper. A far a glocks chambers, I don't worry about it too much. 9mm brass is cheap and I rarely load max loadings. Same with 45ACP, I rarely ever load hot and my brass runs a long time. On my PD loads I do use the bulge buster. On target loads I use the BB every other time, just cause it's easy to do and makes me feel better. If your not loading cast I would just keep the factory barrel. I have a Storm Lake Conversion(9mm) for my G22 and I like it and it is fairly accurate. Plus I ain't afraid to shoot cast in it.

You don't really have to worry about bulges too much with 9mm and 45acp. If you have some concerns, check your reloads against the chamber of you barrel.