• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Adventures in Reloading - Once-fired 308 Brass, Fluted Chambers and expensive gauges

BHPSteel

Default rank <3500 posts
ODT Junkie!
7   0
Reaction score
So, I've been on the press the last few days, doing brass prep of the 308 kind. A few frustrations because I'm a noob, some observations and a question or two.

I bought in 250 "Once Fired" cases in 308 from a supplier I've used before. The brass arrived tumbled so first step was decap and inspect the cases for damage. All went fine, threw a few cases out that had really angular dents up close to the shoulder or gouged rims. Wondered about that because these damaged cases were pretty consistent in the way they were damaged. The gouged rims looked like a really aggressive extraction, and the angular dents looked like something had been in the way when the brass was ejected. All was fine though - the supplier added plenty of extra brass, so I still had over 250 acceptable pieces. Proceeded to get 'swagers cramp' cleaning the pockets while nursing a glass of scotch. Noticed while I was doing this that some of the brass had come from guns with fluted chambers.

Now, I've read conflicting things about reloading brass like this so, I separated any brass like that out pending more research. Stories range from "reload with confidence" to "expect catastrophic failures, widespread death and destruction" on the internet, so I'm not quite sure what to think, The engineer in me tells me that when you resize brass from a fluted chamber, you're probably working the brass more than with a normal chamber, so at the very least, expect the brass to need annealing earlier, and, if you persist without annealing, you're at a greater risk of case failure. Advice (particularly correcting me if I'm wrong) would be greatly appreciated.