• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

7mm ag Help??!!

jeremyo

Default rank <300 posts
Tracker
37   1
Reaction score
I'm new to reloading and I've only don 223 and 308 so far but I'm having a fit with 7mag... Heres the deal, it seems as if the bullet cases are to big to lock up in my browning a bolt. I thought it was the leangth of the case at first but after trimming it to spec, the empty case still wouldn't lock up. I broke out the caliper and figured out that the diamiter of the case is too fat... What do I do now??? The brass Im trying to get in there is once fired from the same rifle. The factory loads drop right in with no resistance. Has anyone else had this problem?

HMM? thtas interesting actually.
Now IF you hadn't said that they were originally fired in the same weapon then i would summize that possibly you have a very tight chamber in your weapon, but thats pretty much ruled out.
what i would suggest is a couple things, First have you checked the OAL of the completed bullet?
perhaps its to long and ramming against the rifling as you try to chamber it?
are there any marks on the end of the projectile from the rifling?
secondly even if with in the recommended OAL for the round it is possible that some projectiles have a different profile and are fatter near the tip as they taper down, that could also be rubbing against the sides of the chamber.
Have you checked the reccomended OAL for that particular round and projectile?
the only other thing that i can think of and this is certainly remote is that the brass was unusually soft and swelled considerbally and the resizing die either wasn't adjusted correctly or the die is bad and doesn't properly resize a fired case, again thats very , very remote.
try the OAL. maybe someone else can give you more ideas.