time limit to sue about injuries after a car accident

Status
Not open for further replies.

dakota port

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
178   0
Reaction score
what would you think if you got a letter saying someone was suing you/your insurance company 1 year after a car accident that was the other parties fault?

isnt there a time limit that any suit involving the accident/ after effects expires?

Last edited:
what would you think if you got a letter saying someone was suing you/your insurance company 1 year after a car accident that was the other parties fault?

isnt there a time limit that any suit involving the accident/ after effects expires?

I'm not a lawyer, but it sounds to me like they are fishing. Probably works on some people, but not on anyone with much perspective.

Over the course of a year, a whole lot of things could have happened which could be blamed for those injuries. I would turn it over to my insurance company. (Seems like a scam or complete shakedown attempt to me. Insurance companies see this kind of B.S. every day. Probably just some scumbag ambulance chaser sending out a form letter in hopes of finding a pushover.)

It is not uncommon for injuries to show up a week or two later, but 1 year? Give me a break!

-They also could be hoping you write or say something they could use against you. Be very careful what you communicate. Don't take blame for anything.... Not verbally or in writing.

Last edited:
Did the other party get a citation for fault of accident?

Seems that would be the main topic during the lawsuit. But considering 2 years have passed anything could have happened to them to cause any pain that they could contest was your fault.

Did the other party get a citation for fault of accident?

Seems that would be the main topic during the lawsuit. But considering 2 years have passed anything could have happened to them to cause any pain that they could contest was your fault.