• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Salt Water Rig Question

Tactical Mad Dawg

Default rank <2500 posts
ODT Junkie!
191   0
Reaction score
Hello, thought I would try to get information on here since the guy at Bass Pro didn’t seem to know. I have a Penn Spinfisher V 8500 I’m wanting to setup for shark fishing. I can’t seem to find a rod like they sale with the combo. Any suggestions on a good rod to put this on? I’ll be filling it with 100lb braid and want a good sturdy rod that will hold up. I’m still new to the salt water fishing. I have a 7500 I’ve been using for a couple years now, but Penn doesn’t sale the rod separate like it’s on either. Thanks for any info.

Fishing from a boat, beach or dock? 7ft would work from boat or dock but I would want longer for surf fishing. Just look for the beefiest spinning rods you can find. They will have the weight ratings on them as mentioned. I like Ugly Sticks and Penn rods for decent value to quality ratio. The 8500 will haul in almost any shark you will encounter. I've caught countless 4-6 footers on trout/bass size rigs. That's a lot of fun

I will be surf fishing. We also use a kayak to take the bait out to the middle of the inlet. I use a 7ft with my 7500 and it has held up for both. Believe I will go with then Ugly Stik Bigwater spinning reel and see how it does. They are 7ft and medium/heavy. Has good reviews. Thanks for all the info and suggestions.

I will be surf fishing. We also use a kayak to take the bait out to the middle of the inlet. I use a 7ft with my 7500 and it has held up for both. Believe I will go with then Ugly Stik Bigwater spinning reel and see how it does. They are 7ft and medium/heavy. Has good reviews. Thanks for all the info and suggestions.
That means you can go a lot lighter than 100lb line. I think the heaviest the Ugly Stiks are rated is 40lbs.