S&W Model 63 vs 617?

SpyderRyder

Default rank <400 posts
Survivalist
17   0
Reaction score
Yes 2 different frame types and barrel lengths.

Out of the box imo trigger smoothness is pot luck.

I've read issues with the 617. Anyone have issues with this revolver? Or has S&W resolved their problems with this. Model?

Any one shot both? Pros ? Cons?

Thanks!

pre-lock 617 if it has to be stainless. Had a couple of 34s and they are ok if you have small hands but no matter the grip the 34 crammed my finger to the trigger guard.

I have no experience with a 63, but my 617 has been flawless. In hindsight, I wish I had gone with the 4". The 6" is quite front heavy (lots of steel left up there with such a small bore), but I can smack my 8" plate at 50 yards with boring accuracy. I would like to swap out the front sight for fiber optic. Otherwise, she's good to go. 👍

20220122_183713.jpg

I have no experience with a 63, but my 617 has been flawless. In hindsight, I wish I had gone with the 4". The 6" is quite front heavy (lots of steel left up there with such a small bore), but I can smack my 8" plate at 50 yards with boring accuracy. I would like to swap out the front sight for fiber optic. Otherwise, she's good to go. 👍

View attachment 4557686
That's a lot of gun right there. Im getting a fiber optic sight on a 686 4" - hoping to get it back next week. Which is why I'll probably get the 617 4" thanks for the feedback.

Yes 2 different frame types and barrel lengths.

Out of the box imo trigger smoothness is pot luck.

I've read issues with the 617. Anyone have issues with this revolver? Or has S&W resolved their problems with this. Model?

Any one shot both? Pros ? Cons?

Thanks!
I bought a 10 shot 617 here on the ODT, 5 shots and the cylinder would lock. It also had a big nick in the crown. Sent it to smith them knowing I wasn't the original owner. They fixed the problem and replaced the barrel. NO CHARGE!!!