• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Question for Real Estate Agents (or other knowledgeable persons)

ucgz

Default rank <300 posts
Tracker
31   0
Reaction score
I am considering purchasing a home without a real estate agent. I know that ideally I would hire an agent but I am a recent college grad and have limited funds. The seller's agent is would have us believe that in today's market it is customary for the buyer to pay closing costs. When we've bought and sold in the past, the seller covered closing costs and I want to make sure that my experience is in line with the norm in Georgia. In your experience, what percentage of the time do the buyers cover closing costs? I am happy to do what's fair, but don't want to be taken advantage of. In your opinion, which closing costs does the seller usually cover in Georgia.

All relative.
It depends on property and how desperate the owner is to sell.
If the property is highly sought after, buyers might pay closing. If not much interest, the seller will cover costs to rid themselves of the property.
I'm not a realtor but I have flipped houses in the past.

The longer this goes on, the more it becomes a buyers market. I heard a report on real estate brokers that said traffic had ground to a complete stop, no body wants to look at houses out of fear of covid. Younger agents are doing showings for older agents who are staying home.

The person that pays them gets the tax deduction....you may or may not be able to make use of the deduction.

Just a generalization, but I believe that the more expensive the property is, the more likely it is that the buyer pays the closing cost.