New to archery...looking for advise on broadheads

haymons22

Default rank <2000 posts
ODT Junkie!
108   0
Reaction score
I just got my first bow about a month ago and I'm not confident enough to hunt with it just yet but if I am before the end of the season I'm going to try it out. Just looking for some advice on good broadheads for deer. Fixed blade or mechanical? What grain? Etc... Like I said I'm new to it and very eager to learn. I didn't know how much fun it could be to just practice with one lol.

Practice while moving your bow string weight up. Maybe a week at a time. If your target shooting @ 50lb pull then move up to 60lb. for a week, adjust your sights of course and then move up to 70lb for a week and another sight adjustment. Head weight depends on what you're hunting. Also I would study shot placement (deer for example) of arrows from different angles, depending upon how the animal presents. You want to get the best shot for a humane kill as well as not having to track it forever.

I use mechanical broadheads. They weigh the same as my practice field tips. Fixed broadheads have more area in flight and therefore have a greater possibility of being deflected by an unseen branch or twig resulting in a missed shot.

Practice, practice, practice and then triple your efforts.

I just got my first bow about a month ago and I'm not confident enough to hunt with it just yet but if I am before the end of the season I'm going to try it out. Just looking for some advice on good broadheads for deer. Fixed blade or mechanical? What grain? Etc... Like I said I'm new to it and very eager to learn. I didn't know how much fun it could be to just practice with one lol.