• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Need Polishing Advice From The Pros

Proximal

Default rank <5000 posts
ODT Junkie!
26   0
Reaction score
As the title states, I need some advice on how to properly polish metal parts. I'm reatively new to polishing and could use some guidance on the process from start to finish. There are some really talented guys on here that have put out some excellent work and I'd love some step by step instruction. I also understand that a lot of guys may do things differently and I welcome any and all input.

I've been working on polishing the trigger, hammer, thumb safety, grip safety, slide release, mag release, barrel, and barrel bushing on my 1911. I can get it to a nice shine but not to the high polished mirror look. Any advice on process and tools used?

I'm no expert but I have made plenty of mistakes that hopefully you can avoid or at least be aware of.

The mark of a novice is rounding off the sharp corners and edges. Thinning the markings or removing them is as well. In general small pits can be removed with a light touch of a small file. I will progressively sand with heavier grit paper/cloth first then finer. After a file for pits or a rough starting finish, I use 150-220 grit metal sand paper (aluminum oxide is common). The next step or if the finish is smoother starting is using around 400 grit to begin with. This is often the similar to a factory standard "polish". You can dry sand until it looks good then wet sand for and ending if you like. You can progress up to 600, 800 and 1000 grit to steel wool to get to a mirror polish. When close a buffing compound will give it a blinding glare-mirror like finish. Many use a wheel to finish it off but beware aggressive use of the wheel too early can really make a gun look like crap.