• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Medical people, what would be some good classes/training to take?

jsquared

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
43   0
Reaction score
Looking for information from first responders/EMT's/nurses/etc about good first aid and medical classes to take to broaden my skills. I am an Army veteran with standard Army first aid and casualty training (ie, I know enough to be dangerous and not enough to really help) and would like to get more updated training on CPR/rescue breathing, basic trauma care, administering IV's, suturing, setting bones, etc.

Not really looking to learn from a book, I do too much of that already. Wanting hands-on training. If you have any suggestions on where to take classes, what classes to take, and what to avoid, I would appreciate it.

You can always check the American Heart Association website. I am a CPR/Heartsaver course instructor through them.

Gwinnett Tech offers EMT, and medic training. Sewing, stapeling, and setting bones is a MD's job. Some mid level like PA's and Nurse Practs. can do it. But its always under a doctors order. Unless your in the military.

Gwinnett Tech offers EMT, and medic training. Sewing, stapeling, and setting bones is a MD's job. Some mid level like PA's and Nurse Practs. can do it. But its always under a doctors order. Unless your in the military.

^^^^^ I completely agree. You nailed it right on the head,

I just checked out Gwinnett Tech and they do have a few classes but they are not exactly what I am looking for. The only ones I saw that were relevant were CPR for the Healthcare Provider and Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers Online Part I (which is not live training anyway). Am I not looking in the right section?

GT offers diploma classes in EMT and Medic. I think what your wanting is something quicker right? Like a few day class...Not going to find that there. Emt is 12 months, Medic is another 12 months.