• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Grip Stipple Project - Here goes nothing!

Truegiant

Default rank <200 posts
Tracker
13   0
Reaction score
I have been browsing online for a while on who I could send me STI pistols to for grip modification. I have looked and looked and after doing some research I found that alot of people just use a soldering iron. I thought to myself there is no way in hell I am taking a $10 soldering iron to 2 pistols that cost me more than $3,000. I remembered that I had some old blackhawk serpa paddle attachments that I never used and that they were of similair material. I figured what they hell and I would try and see what it looked like. After about 10 minutes playing around with it I somewhat got the hang of it. I am by no means a professional but believe in function over form.

I wanted to give it a try on my S&W Bodyguard first. I did a couple of incospecious areas first to see how it would actually turn out. Then I got ballsy and just started edging in all the detail areas. I did not sand off the factory stipple or logos and those areas did not turn out perfect. Overall the entire gun took me about 2.5 hours and saved me about $100. That will work for me!

I took the laser unit out to ensure I did not slip and bump it!

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0475.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0477.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0478.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0479.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0480.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0481.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0482.jpg

i216.photobucket.com_albums_cc75_truegiant_IMAG0483.jpg

Last edited:
Looks good! I am one of the few fans of stippling. It's amazing how addictive it is when you do it, it's hard to stop with just a couple small areas!

Good job on that, I wouldn't do it to mine but now its YOURS!