• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Getting my 64 chevy pickup ready, need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

BIGLEW

Air Force Icon Supporter
AKA: BIG PRETTY - BDR1
446   0
Reaction score
I am by no means a mechanic, but I want to get my 64 chevy pick up back on the road. It has been sitting since the early 1990's. My dad told me it needed some rear end work, bearings were going bad. The gas tank will need to be cleaned I am sure, and the motor is currently on an engine stand where it has been for about 25 years. It ran fine before hand, but sure it will need some work to get it going. Anyone on here do this type of work or know anyone who does?

Ive built a couple ford 9" and one dana 70. You"ll need a press and bearing puller to replace the carrier bearings on the spool. Note all shim thicknesses and if your ring and pinion are in good condition and wearing good, just go back with a rebuild kit. Check backlash with a drop indicator. Rebuild kit includes carrier bearings, pinion bearing, seals and other various items specific to your differential like crush washers. Not sure what axle that truck has but should be no big deal.

Wish you were closer. Id lend a hand fo sho. You can get a kit for your fuel tank too. Acid cleans it and then epoxy coats it. Thats if a replacement isnt available which Id be surprised if one is not.

What's wrong with the engine? And why would it get removed if it was running ok?

Probably need to remove the tank and wash it out

If its not full of rust and dirt it may be ok