• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Any plumbers in the house?

godawgs90

Default rank 5000+ posts Supporter
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
466   0
Reaction score
So the expansion tank on my water heater just blew a pinhole leak. I'm sure replacing the tank is easy enough... but my question is: If my wife was using the outdoor hose to water flowers, would that effect the water heater in any way? I feel like I just replaced this tank 3-4 years ago...

Thanks ODT

I’m not a plumber and I did not stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night

However I work as a general contractor and as a homeowner I don’t call in help

It should have lasted longer 8-10 years

Your hose bib usage should not have any effect that I can think of as its fed off the cold water side

As a water heater is used and is refilled with cold water - pressure is created in that water being heated - the expansion tank absorbs this pressure

Does the pressure relief valve drip water ?

Do you have a pressure reducing valve ?
The street pressure could be too high effecting the water heater and thus the expansion tank

The pressure in the tank should be 10-14 psi - There should be a label on it

The tank should feel warm at the bottom and cool at the top when operating normally - something to check in the future maintenance

Not too hard to replace is relative to your abilities

Hope this helps

if I remember right most tanks are only rated to last 5 years.

The outdoor spigot will cause the whole house pressure to fluctuate thus causing the bladder to compensate. But none of that would have induced a failure. Just time for a new tank.

Expansion tanks really do not have an industry standard for life expectancy. There are a few brands (Watts) that had a defect during manufacturing. The roller that kept the coating even on the inside was slightly out of round, causing pinhole leaks in the exact same spot on all the tanks made before they caught the issue.