• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

2 PC lug nut issue

taylorhagstrom

Default rank <200 posts Sponsor
Life Insurance Agent
23   0
Reaction score
I want to start this by saying I’ve changed tires before, and brake pads before on previous vehicles I’ve owned, but I’m also not a mechanic for sure. I have yet to run into lug nuts this stuck, and in this 2 piece style.

I have a 2017 Chrysler Pacifica, and the wheels are 5 lug nuts each side. I’ve only had the van a year, and the brake pads started sounding like they are spent, but with how stuck these seem to be I’m not sure the previous owner ever took the lugs off. (I could be wrong)

They look to have a lighter weight outer shell (aluminum maybe)?) and a steel inner lug nut (just a guess it’s steel). The outer lug is 19mm, and the inner seems to be almost a 17.5mm as a 17mm does not quite fit.

I was trying to take off the lug nuts to replace the front brake pads and most of the lug nuts are stuck. I was able to get a few off on the driver and passenger side front wheels. A few the outer shell came off.

I have a new set of solid 1 piece lug nuts to replace all four wheels.

Does anybody have any advice for getting off the stuck lug nuts? I have 3 that the outer shell came off (one started to get stripped so I stopped trying to remove that steel part of the nut), 3 that have the outer shell still but refuse to move. (The other 4 I was able to remove on the front wheels) in the photos I have reinstalled the lug nuts I was able to get off for now.

I’ve tried using penetrating lubricant in addition to a 20 inch wrench (one of the ones with 4 standard sizes in a x shape) and cannot seem to get them to move. I also understand I may be out of luck. Any advice is great. Thank you!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    146.4 KB · Views: 11
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    154.9 KB · Views: 9