• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

What do I need to cut ar500 armor?

renault314

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
27   0
Reaction score
Hey,
I have a nice plate carrier that is sized for medium sapi plates (9.5x11inch), but who wants to spend the money on that? I have another plate carrier, a crye jpc that takes off the shelf 10x12 ar500 steel plates, but they wont fit in the medium carrier that i have. So instead of purchasing crazy expensive medium ceramic plates (from a who knows how many times they were dropped Ebay supplier) i figured i could just buy steel plates and cut them down.

So, what do i need? A sawzall, with a metal blade? oxy/acet torch? a phased plasma cannon in the 40 watt range? if something is wrong with this plan, let me know, and i already anticipate messing up the spall liner but i can fix that.
thanks!

I'm not an expert, but the online research I scanned about AR500 targets was that any high heat would change the properties near the cut. That could lead to failure near the edges of the armor. Water jet would be my choice if available. Plasma or other method if I was intent on cutting a plate to save money while foregoing full plate protection.

But I'm interested in opinions of folks who know what they're talking about.

I'm not an expert, but the online research I scanned about AR500 targets was that any high heat would change the properties near the cut. That could lead to failure near the edges of the armor. Water jet would be my choice if available. Plasma or other method if I was intent on cutting a plate to save money while foregoing full plate protection.

But I'm interested in opinions of folks who know what they're talking about.
hmm, i hadnt considered that a high heat process might mess up the hardening. Good point.