Wanting to bow hunt

jkaczyn18

Default rank <3500 posts Lifetime Supporter
ODT Junkie!
206   0
Reaction score
I want to start bow hunting, but don't know much about equipment and necessities. What would be a good starter bow setup for hunting deer and pigs. I want something that will get me through a season or 2, and would be a plus if when I decide to upgrade I don't take a huge hit. Thanks for any info you guys have for a total newb bow hunter.

Get a decent compound bow that you can afford. You will want a release, arrows, field tips and broad heads, and if bow doesn't have rest and sights you will need to get those as well.
You will need to have a place to shoot. I recommend shooting as much as you can. Practice makes one better.
There are several places to start looking for a bow. Here for one, local sporting goods stores is another, or possibly other forums.
Happy shooting and enjoy the quest to be better with bow and arrow.

Get a decent compound bow that you can afford. You will want a release, arrows, field tips and broad heads, and if bow doesn't have rest and sights you will need to get those as well.
You will need to have a place to shoot. I recommend shooting as much as you can. Practice makes one better.
There are several places to start looking for a bow. Here for one, local sporting goods stores is another, or possibly other forums.
Happy shooting and enjoy the quest to be better with bow and arrow.

Thanks for the reply. Now what is a good reputable bow that won't break the bank to bad. I don't mind spending some on quality, but I also don't need a $2000 bow right now.

I got a Mathews switchback I am lookin to sell....it's a couple years old and ya wouldn't be sinkin a lot of money into it..still a great bow for the money. Depends on if it was right length and stuff for ya!