• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Shotgun 5-stand or skeet?

GAgunLAWbooklet

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
63   0
Reaction score
Once a year in the fall I like to take out a couple of shotguns out of the safe to shoot one round of skeet or five stand with each of these guns.

I'm not a shotgun expert by any means; I don't shoot them very often. These days, if I break 10 out of 25 I feel I've had a good day.

WITH THAT IN MIND,
are there any other casual shotgun owners that would like to come out to some range from the North Metro Atlanta area and have a little group get together and break some clays with small birdshot loads?

On a weekend.

I've been considering getting a shotgun and taking up Skeet and Trap. What's a good budget gun for that? One of those Turkish guns like they sell at Academy?

I've been considering getting a shotgun and taking up Skeet and Trap. What's a good budget gun for that? One of those Turkish guns like they sell at Academy?
Find a nice 1100 with choke tubes and you're off to a good start and a good used one is easy to find here on the ODT. If you take up the sport you'll be shooting a lot, a huge amount of shells. The cheapest gun is not really the best way to go. I say to be honest. I can tell you story after story of the guns I've seen fail on the range. Just be patient and wait for the right one. Stay with 12 or 20 gauge. They are the cheaper of the gauges, most available, and usually cost the same whether you buy 12 or 20.

Once a year in the fall I like to take out a couple of shotguns out of the safe to shoot one round of skeet or five stand with each of these guns.

I'm not a shotgun expert by any means; I don't shoot them very often. These days, if I break 10 out of 25 I feel I've had a good day.

WITH THAT IN MIND,