• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Reloading for 308 win SA

Kawasaki

Default rank <100 posts Supporter
Hunter
3   0
Reaction score
For context, I have no experience reloading. I'll be hunting an AR-style semi-auto platform next year, reloading for 308 win.

Do I need a small-base sizing die? Based on what I'm seeing I have two options: size the brass to saami spec or bump the shoulder back and reduce neck size by 3-4 thou. I can accomplish either of those w a standard FL die though, right?

I know I'll need a seater die that taper crimps and the $ difference for the SB set vs a seater die is minimal. Just want to make sure what I think I know is actually correct.

If you small-base size your brass, you can be more confident that rounds made from recycled brass will chamber more reliably in a semi-auto, because the case diameter will be sized a bit smaller than SAAMI. The alternative is the full-length sizing die, which returns the brass to SAAMI specs.

Both types of sizing die can be set to give you your shoulder bump and resize the neck to the right dimensions. That neck size will be one or two thou less than the diameter of the bullet, so when you seat the bullet, the tension will hold the bullet in place - although some reloaders put a crimp on their bullets (whether the bullets have cannelures or not). There are arguments for- and against- doing so, but some reloaders who have dies that can seat and crimp back the crimping feature off of the brass.

From personal experience, resizing 308 brass with a small-base die can be hard work. I actually went out and bought a really chunky single-stage press because I was concerned I'd damage my Hornady progressive press. Oh, and don't forget lube on those cases when you're resizing.