• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Indoor/Outdoor Range for practical drills?

Xavier

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
5   0
Reaction score
Hello All!

Not sure if this is the right place to ask, my apologies if it is not. Basically I am growing tired of shooting paper and standing still at traditional ranges. Every range I have been to only offers this.

I am also fairly new to shooting so maybe I am missing something, but I am looking for a facility where I can practice more realistic drills, like moving around, and firing at multiple targets. Does anyone have a place they can recommend?

I am near Metro Atlanta but I do not mind driving an hour or two if it is needed. Eventually I would like to get into 2 or 3 gun type competitions, so I just want to start heading in that direction. Thank you!

I'm building an outdoor range in City of South Fulton. Contractors started clearing last week and will (hopefully) be done in 2 more weeks. We have been hosting limited courses in the area we do have open, so if you want to come out let me know.

Our whole goal is to have a range people can move around and do practical training.

Check out South River Gun Club, Griffin Gun Club, and Riverbend Gun Club. All are outdoors and all require a membership.

I conduct training on a private, outdoor range in Cobb Co where most anything is doable.

Check out the schedule at GMSA.

They're near Toccoa so it's a bit of a drive for you, but they have monthly 'tactical' shoots, as well as IDPA, 3 gun, etc. The 'tactical' shoots are a good introduction to shooting and moving. There's mag changes, multiple targets at differing ranges, movements, etc.

www.gmsaclub.com.

There's a laser / training gun (only) shooting range
in Roswell/ Alpharetta / Woodstock area.
They can give you drills where you hold a real fire arm that's been modified to shoot a laser light and has a CO2 powered slide action to simulate at least modest recoil.