• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Where to train near Atlanta?

silvester27

Default rank <5 posts
New to The Trader!
7   0
Reaction score
I’m pretty new to the sport. Have gone to a few tactical courses, few hundred rounds at indoor range, and some time on dry fire practice.

I want to start competing after the whole apocalypse thing but wondering where I can train run and gun? Are there any ranges that are down with that, or maybe I should find someone with some land?

South of Atlanta is South River Gun Club. Andreas Yankopolus also teaches great USPSA based classes there.

North of Atlanta you're looking at River Bend Gun Club or Cherokee Gun Club

All of these clubs require membership to use or you can come as a guest with a member.

All their matches are open to the public though.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Until you have tried it, you really do not know if it something you will stick with. I would suggest starting with indoor matches and try using a handgun and then a carbine and find what you like. Most organizations now allow either at all matches. The indoor matches will take the least amount of prep and drive time. Watch a few YouTube videos and get comfortable with the range commands. Then find a local range that holds matches and show up early for a match with a pistol, kydex hip holster that covers the trigger guard, two mag holders, 150 rounds of ammo and watch , listen and go slow your first match.
Action shooting is a brotherhood in Georgia filled with some of the best guys you will meet.
In three years I have gained skills that I could never have imagined and I am not very good at all compared to the majority of people I shoot with. There are several guys in North Georgia that are as skilled as anyone in the world and they are always willing to give free advice.

I’m pretty new to the sport. Have gone to a few tactical courses, few hundred rounds at indoor range, and some time on dry fire practice.