• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Turkey hunting.

Sonofodin

Default rank <50 posts
Outdoorsman
10   0
Reaction score
North Atlanta area. Want to start turkey hunting. I have hunted pretty much everything you can in Georgia. But never really got into hunting birds of any type. So this year I have decided to try my luck at birds. I am an experienced hunter but I have no knowledge the specifics on turkey hunting. Gear, ammo, general helpful tips would be appreciated.

Get good 12ga or 20ga. Shoot longbeard xr #6 shells or tss. I would recommend tss for 20ga. Don't overcall, use a locater call like owl hoot or crow call sparingly if he is gobbling at it. Decoys in a food plot can be your friend. Stay as still as possible. Do you have a hunting club you're in or are you hunting public land?

The only turkey hunt I did, I got a bird that was trying to walk past me to get to my buddy who was calling it in. But, I interrupted its walk.
P.S. Aside from the obvious lesson learned about the value of having a call and somebody who knows how to use it,

I got lucky in another respect. I misjudged the distance to the bird. I thought I was taking a 25-yard shot when it was really 38 or about that much. My pattern of #6 shot from my 3" shell was WAY TOO WIDE.
It was probably a 36" pattern, with gaps of a couple inches between the pellet strikes.
I only found about 5 pellets in the bird, and I shot it TWICE. First shot got it flopping around on the ground, wildly, and the second shot was a complete miss, and the third shot hit the body and put it out of its misery. But, I expected to have to dig dozens of lead pellets out of the meat. Instead, I only found 5 wounds on the bird's body.
So, the other lessons are (1) HAVE A TIGHT CHOKE-- a real "turkey" or "extra full" choke, not a standard "full."