• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

New to cans - looking for verification

Astolt12

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
18   1
Reaction score
As the title says I’m new to cans but just recently decided to pick up a Deadair Sandman S as well as a Deadair wolfman. Figured no time better than now.

bought the sandman to shoot 556/308 which seems pretty straight forward. Get Deadairs keymount adapter with the same thread pitch as your rifle, torque and then put a can on. I figured I’d pick up alignment rods to be sure as I am worried about baffle strikes/installing it incorrectly - hence why I’m here.

the wolfman on the other hand has me confused. I bought it to put on 9mm and eventually a 300BLK, but after looking around I’ll need a few parts to successfully run it on a pistol. It seems a keymicro adapter and a micro brake to successfully run it on a 9mm

to then run that on a 300blk I would just need a micro brake due to the length of the can?

Any insight is appreciated as I wait for the ATF.

You know the sandman is a .30 cal can and the 300 blk is a .30 cal bullet right?

To run the Wolfman on a pistol you need a booster and piston. To run it on a rifle you need a fixed spacer for the booster or a fixed mount like the key micro. If you want to be continually swapping the back housing on the can then by all means but the easiest and cost effective route is to put a keymo brake or FH on the 300 blk and run the sandman.

You know the sandman is a .30 cal can and the 300 blk is a .30 cal bullet right?.

correct, and yes I do know the 300blk is a .30 bullet. I bought the Wolfman more so for 9mm pistols and the sandman for my 30 cal rifles. While I don’t own a 300blk currently I can reload subs and thought hell that’s a great excuse to buy another gun.

The confusing part for me was making it run on a pistol. The Deadair site has a document showing what’s needed to run the Wolfman but I think that’s more for rifles that shoot 9mm.