• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

How To Run a Pump Shotgun

1   0
Reaction score
Chris Baker of Lucky Gunner is an extremely well-trained shooter, and he puts together good videos. He put together this guide for running a pump shotgun hoping to provide good info for first-time gun owners due to the current panic, but it's good, all-round info for everyone.

How to Run a Pump Shotgun

He has another video on reload techniques:

How to Reload a Defensive Shotgun

I like Chris' statements about using a shorter than normal buttstock for a close quarters battle shotgun. I've been advocating that for 20 years.
(And that's NOT based on the idea that you may be wearing very thick clothing, or body armor, or a load bearing vest.)

I've cut down several buttstocks of my own shotguns, and I'm a full sized adult man. My current favorite general purpose shotgun has a youth model stock with a 12.6" length of C3BFA93A-2DAA-4A6A-934A-D11F62744C8F.jpeg

pull (Face of the trigger to the rear of the butt pad or butt plate).
Not the normal 14 or 14.5"

1B0444BF-82F7-4F6B-A3D2-302E7B2580C9.jpeg
B49AB854-8299-4FEB-A87C-799F698CDA76.jpeg

Chris Baker of Lucky Gunner advocates a strange grip technique for placing your dominant hand.

The issue is where to position the thumb of your dominant hand--
does it go on the side of the receiver parallel to the bore,
as shown in Chris's video?

Does it go on top of the back of the receiver near the tang area?
Does your thumb cross over and somewhat wrap around the stock and go to the opposite side of the gun?

He says this is to keep your thumb from being driven back into your face under the gun's recoil. We are talking about pump action shotguns loaded with defensive ammo, not light birdshot payloads intended to break a clay target.

What do y'all think about this?
How do you position your dominant hand on your shotgun?

My hand position on two shotguns, all with conventional stocks
with a standard wrist.