• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Hog and coyote

GaBoy95

Default rank <200 posts
Hunter
12   0
Reaction score
Greetings from north Georgia.
I am not new to firearms but I am new to hunting. What scope are you running on your AR? Also, where can I find a hog hunt in our state? Any information and advice is much appreciated. thanks!

A scope with a true 1x power is what most people look for on an AR. Not sure of your budget but there are dozens of options ranging from a couple hundred bucks to a couple grand.

A solid AR scope that won’t break the bank is a Vortex Strike Eagle 1-8. Would probably be my choice under $400.

I prefer a standard 3x9x40 on my Ar for hog hunting. You don’t know if if your taking a 20 yard shot or 200 yard shot when your after hogs. I highly recommend guide service Salt Log Outfitters In central Ga for hog hunting the place is set up real nice.

I’m currently running a Vortex Viper 2.5-10 on my hunting AR. It’s just a matter of preference. I have hunted and killed hogs with fixed 1.5 power ACOGS, 1-6 scopes, Eotechs/red dots, and iron sights, and just whacked a yote last week with the 2.5-10. Just depends on the style hunting you are gonna do. I do a lot of stalking/still hunting where I sneak up pretty close on foot, so you don’t need a lot of scope for that. For stand hunting I like 1-6 for thick spots with fast action, and 2.5-10 or 3-9 for more open areas with longer shot opportunities. Buy the best glass you can afford, sure, you can kill a deer with cheap glass, but you don’t know what you are missing until you use some quality glass.