• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Fly fishing advice!!!

DrewR700

Default rank <2500 posts
ODT Junkie!
220   0
Reaction score
Hey fellas! I'm just getting into fly fishing and have been doing some research on what types of flies I should be using and I figured the ol ODT would be a great resource. Any of you fellas know what type of flies would be good to use around the streams in north Georgia. Looking to get on some trout and I think I'm missing more than I'm catching. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Black and olive cone head wooly buggers size 6-10 always to well. A parachute Adams size 12-18. If you see trout slurping on the surface, but are not sure what they are eating, go with the smallest black fly you can find?

The most important thing is to see what insect is hatching and match a fly to it.

You've got yourself a lot of territory to cover with this, troutman says correctly in "matching the hatch". Do a internet search for north Georgia trout hatch and you will find the several groups have posted what bugs are "on the menu" for this time of year.