• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Excellent prepper/survival radio

mountainmoped

Default rank <2000 posts
ODT Junkie!
32   0
Reaction score
I have been a ham radio operator since I was 11 years old. For the last 3 years I have searched for an inexpensive radio that would provide reliable short range communication without the requirement of having a license. I tried a number of the FRS/GMRS handheld radios from Walmart and Ebay. They worked, but had very limited range when used in wooded areas as foliage. I started checking on MURS radio equipment as it is VHF rather than UHF and works better in wooded areas. Until recently the only MURS radios were old Motorola and Radio Shack radios, but recently a few companies started making MURS radios. MURS is called the forgotten band as it is seldom utilized. For years Walmart, Sam’s Club and Cosco have used, and still use MURS channel 5. You can send voice, data and images over MURS. Unlike FRS radios MURS can use a separate antenna that can be as much as 60 feet above ground level. I have found one MURS radio that is inexpensive and has a much greater range than the FRS/GRMS radios. The Retevis RT27V can be purchased from Amazon and EBay for as little as $15.00. It comes with a rechargeable battery and a charging stand. The great thing about this radio is it charges with a USB cable so it can be charged with the phone charger, a computer or one of the power banks or solar charger for cell phones.