• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Conceal Carry Options for Business Attire

drguns

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
4   0
Reaction score
Newnan, approx 40 miles south of ATL off of I-85
I'm new to ODT and wanted to share my experience and frustration with conceal carry options for business attire. I'm an outside sales rep and travel to some sketchy parts of town and want to carry. My normal attire is a button down dress shirt tucked in with flat front pants and I rarely if ever wear a coat, even in the coldest of temps. I'm a big guy, 6'4" and about 240lb with really no gut. My EDC is a Kahr CM9. I tried a few tuckable IWB's and it was not for me. I do not want to wear pants 2 sizes too big and look like I have a tumor growing from my side. A pocket holster was a consideration, but I just didn't like the "look" of having something so bulky in my front pocket.
After much searching I came to the conclusion that there are really only two options for me, SmartCarry and Kangaroo Carry.
The SmartCarry set-up allows me to carry the CM9 completely concealed, even with regular fitting flat front dress pants. I have to carry it a little higher than they recommend to keep the butt of the gun from printing, but it really isn't a problem either way. Most people are not looking at your crotch (Shocking I know!!!) so even if it prints a little it doesn't draw much attention. The draw is fast enough and because of the long DAO trigger on the CM9, I don't really worry about losing any man parts. Now I know many will talk about re-holstering being an issue. For me, the main thing is to get to my gun when I need it. I'm happy to stick it in my pocket later if needed.