• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Anyone play airsoft? I need advice

(M)

Default rank <3500 posts
100% Chuck Norris approved
104   0
Reaction score
My 9 year old is interested in getting into airsoft. I have no experience in this realm and could use advice on good starter gear. We're looking to get at least 2 full setups so he can play against siblings and friends. I would guess we're looking for something reliable, durable, 1st time user friendly. Any recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks and God bless.

My only advise would be to take him to a proper field or complex before you spend a ton on money on the hobby. I played paintball for years. You would see parents walk into the shop and spend $700 on a setup for their kids without hesitation. That same young man would walk onto the field and get lit up by an overly aggressive player and never want to play again.

My sons played on a sponsored traveling team for several years...,it was a lot of fun but it can get expensive if you let it.

Walmart and other places sell spring-loaded airsoft guns....they’re not quite as powerful as the electric guns but a new player would never know. That’s an economical way to get started. Don’t skimp on safety....get them a good face mask.

if you'd like to go with electric guns right away, I’d suggest the AEG brand. Try to pick one that already comes with the battery, charger, and a mag or two to save some bucks. They make their money on accessories like the batteries and mags....quite expensive. I’d advise you to avoid buying used gear from other kids..,,the gear takes a beating and will develop issues that are expensive to repair.

Here’s a link if you’d like to window shop a little....
https://www.airsoftatlanta.com/collections/aeg-airsoft-guns

I a